Primary Election

A candidate must be a registered voter and resident of the jurisdiction where seeking office for at least one year immediately prior to the date upon which the election for office is to be held (NJSA 40A:9-1.13).

Partisan Offices: Direct or independent candidates for County and Municipal offices with partisan governments must obtain forms, information, and file petitions with the County Clerk. The following local governments are partisan: Cape May County, Dennis Township, Lower Township, Middle Township, North Wildwood, Stone Harbor, Upper Township and Woodbine.

In partisan offices, successful candidates from the Primary Election advance to the General Election ballot in their party columns. Independent candidates file Direct Nomination petitions by 4:00 p.m. on Primary Election day.

Non-Partisan Offices: Candidates for Non-Partisan Municipal Office must obtain forms and information from their Municipal Clerk. The following municipalities are non-partisan: Avalon, Cape May, Cape May Point, Ocean City, Sea Isle City, West Cape May, West Wildwood, Wildwood and Wildwood Crest.

State Offices: Candidates for State Office must obtain forms and file petitions with the New Jersey Division of Elections.

For further information contact:

Cape May County Clerk’s Office 7 N. Main Street DN 109 PO Box 5000 Cape May Court House NJ 08210-5000 Rita M. Rothberg, County Clerk