School Elections

November 5, 2019

Local and Regional School Elections held at the General Election

June 4 –  School District to Submit Notice to County Clerks of Available Offices for Upcoming General Election (on or before primary election).  N.J.S.A. 19:60-7

July 29 –  Nomination Petition Filing Deadline for School Election Candidates for General Election (last Monday in July).  N.J.S.A. 19:60-7

August 1 – Deadline for Amendments to Defective Petitions for School Election Candidates (3 days after filing deadline). N.J.S.A 19:13-13

August 2 –  Filing Deadline for Objections to Nomination Petitions for School Election Candidates (no later than 4 days after filing deadline).  N.J.S.A. 19:13-10

August 8 –  Deadline for Determination of Petition Challenge for School Election Candidates for General Election (10 days after the last day for filing nomination petitions).  N.J.S.A. 19:60-7

August 12 – 3 pm –  Drawing of Ballot Position by the County Clerk (85 days before election).  N.J.S.A. 19:14-12

August 27 –  Deadline for Withdrawal of School Board Candidates (70 days before election).  N.J.S.A. 19:60-7

September 3 –  Nomination Petition Filing Deadline for New Nomination Petition to fill a Vacancy for Independent Candidates and School Election Candidates for the General Election (before 4:00 p.m. on or before 64th day prior to election).  N.J.S.A. 19:13-19

September 6 –  Deadline to Submit Public Question for November School Board Elections to the County Clerk by the School Board Secretary (60 days before election).  N.J.S.A. 19:60-4

September 10 –  Publication of Notice of Mail-In Ballot Availability for General Election by County Clerks (prior to the 55th day before election).  N.J.S.A. 19:63-6

September 15 – October 14 –  Publication of Notice of General Election by County Boards of Election (within 30 days before the close of registration election).  N.J.S.A. 19:12-7

September 16 –  Deadline for Preparation of Official General Election Ballot for Printing (50 days before election).  N.J.S.A. 19:14-1

September 20 –  Commencement of Mailing of Mail-In Ballots for General Election (45 days before election).  N.J.S.A. 19:63-5, N.J.S.A. 19:63-9

October 15 –  Voter Registration Deadline for General Election (21 days before election).  N.J.S.A. 19:31-6

October 29 –  Deadline to apply for a Mail-In Ballot by Mail for General Election (not less than 7 days prior to election).  N.J.S.A. 19:63-3

October 30 – Mailing of Sample Ballots for General Election (on or before 12 noon on Wednesday preceding the election). N.J.S.A. 19:14-25

November 4 by 3:00 pm –  Deadline for In-Person Mail-In Ballot Applications for General Election (up to 3:00 p.m. on the day before election).  N.J.S.A. 19:63-3

November 5 – General Election (Tuesday after first Monday in November).  N.J.S.A. 19:2-3, N.J.S.A. 19:15-2

November 5 – Deadline for Post Office Receipt of Mail-In Ballots from General Election

November 5 –  Deadline for Submission of General Election Mail-In Ballots to County Boards of Election (by 8:00 p.m. on the day of election).  N.J.S.A. 19:63-16

November 7 – Deadline for Receipt of Timely Mailed Postmarked Mail-In Ballots to County Boards of Election (no later than 48 hours after the time of the closing of the polls for the election). N.J.S.A. 19:63-16